Victor Moses And Danny Drinkwater Misses Out As Chelsea Releases Champions League Squad

With the transfer window closing in many major leagues in Europe and the start of the Champions League group stage later this month, the Chelsea squad for the first leg of this competition has been submitted to UEFA.

Each participating club must submit an A list of its playing staff, which consists of up to 25 players with at least eight locally trained players, four of whom must have passed through the club's ranks between the ages of 15 and 21.

Any shortage of those eight players will reduce the total number of players available, and UEFA has announced that five substitutions will be allowed this season, bringing the number of players selected for a team of the day to 23.

In addition, there is the B roster, which is made up of players aged 21 or under who have trained at the club for two years. This list can be updated at any time until midnight before a Champions League match.

In Chelsea's A list, submitted for the 2020/21 group stage, the likes of Andreas Christensen, Tammy Abraham, Fikayo Tomori and Ben Chilwell are locally trained players, with the top three classified as club trained and Chilwell association-trained player.  

Mason Mount, Callum Hudson-Odoi, Reece James and Billy Gilmour qualify to be submitted on List B.

LIST A (in squad number order)

Kepa Arrizabalaga

Antonio Rudiger

Marcos Alonso

Andreas Christensen – club-trained


Thiago Silva

N’Golo Kante

Tammy Abraham – club-trained

Christian Pulisic

Timo Werner

Willy Caballero

Fikayo Tomori – club-trained

Kurt Zouma

Edouard Mendy

Mateo Kovacic

Olivier Giroud

Ben Chilwell – association-trained

Hakim Ziyech

Cesar Azpilicueta

Kai Havertz

Emerson Palmieri


Mason Mount

Callum Hudson-Odoi

Billy Gilmour

Reece James